Tuesday, January 11, 2011

No more bumps, but more bumping in Shootout

NASCAR released the lineup for the Bud Shootout to be held at Daytona International Speedway Saturday, Feb. 12. It will be broadcast on FOX with the green flag set for 8:10 p.m. Though it's not a Sprint Cup Series points race, it will be the first race on the newly paved speedway. The speedway didn't undergo a simple resurfacing project during this offseason, it was much more in depth. The old surface was torn up and taken off, then after landscaping work, the new surface was put down. No more bumps, but maybe more bumping on the smooth surface.
Here's a look at the drivers that are in and the criteria that made them eligible.

2010 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Drivers
Jimmie Johnson
Denny Hamlin
Kevin Harvick
Carl Edwards
Matt Kenseth
Greg Biffle
Tony Stewart
Kyle Busch
Jeff Gordon
Clint Bowyer
Kurt Busch
Jeff Burton

Others (criteria in parentheses)
John Andretti (Coke Zero 400)
Geoff Bodine (Daytona 500, Budweiser Shootout)
Kevin Conway (Series rookie of the year)
Derrike Cope (Daytona 500)
Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout)
Bill Elliott (Series champion, Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout)
Kasey Kahne (Series rookie of the year)
Bobby Labonte (Series champion)
Terry Labonte (Series champion, Budweiser Shootout)
Joey Logano (Series rookie of the year)
Sterling Marlin (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400)
Mark Martin (Budweiser Shootout)
Jamie McMurray (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Series rookie of the year)
Juan Pablo Montoya (Series rookie of the year)
Ryan Newman (Daytona 500, Series rookie of the year)
Ken Schrader (Budweiser Shootout)
Regan Smith (Series rookie of the year)
Michael Waltrip (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400)

The event is 75 laps, with two segments, the first one being 25 laps with a 10-minute pit stop for crews to change tires and make any other adjustments. Yellow flags will count and the starting order will be determined by a blind draw at 8 p.m., Feb. 11.

No comments:

Post a Comment